17 Of The Best New Books For 2017 | sheerluxe.com

17 Of The Best New Books For 2017

Favourites 37

Looking to get lost in a gripping new read? From heart-wrenching love stories to mysterious crime capers, we’ve whittled down 15 new books you need to clear a space on your shelves for...

 

Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi, £9.99 (was £12.99) | Waterstones

An unwavering portrayal of the slave trade, told through Effia and Esi, two sisters with two very different destinies – one sold into slavery, one a slave trader's wife.

 

Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders, £14.99 (was £18.99) | Waterstones

The captivating first novel by the best-selling, National Book Award nominee George Saunders, focuses on Abraham Lincoln and the death of his eleven-year-old son, Willie, at the dawn of the Civil War.

 

Little Deaths by Emma Flint, £9.99 (was £12.99) | Waterstones

Haunting, intoxicating and heart-poundingly suspenseful, Little Deaths by Emma Flint is a gripping debut novel about love, morality and obsession, exploring the capacity for good and evil within us all.

 

Lotus By Lijia Zhang, from £11.27 | Amazon

Inspired by the secret life of the author’s grandmother, who was sold into prostitution during her youth, Lotus follows a young woman torn between past traditions and modern desires as she carves out a life for herself in China’s ‘City of Sins’.

 

Mail Men by Adrian Addison, £15 (was £20) | Waterstones
 
Former news editor on the Today programme, Adrian Addison tells the story of the Daily Mail, the long-standing institutional British paper that has shaped – or perhaps misshaped – Britain.

 

Moonglow by Michael Chabon, £8.99 | Amazon

Following on from his New York Times bestselling novel Telegraph Avenue, Pulitzer Prize-winning author Michael Chabon delivers another literary masterpiece: a novel of truth and lies, family legends, existential adventure and the forces that work to destroy us.

 

Phone by Will Self, £18.99 (coming soon) | Waterstones

Will Self’s latest masterpiece is about Jonathan De'Ath – who (behind his back) everyone calls the Butcher. He knows everyone calls him this, but he also knows that they’re blissfully unaware of the secret that he keeps carefully hidden from them all, encrypted in the databanks of his steely mind.

 

Greatest Hits by Laura Barnett, £12.99 (coming soon) | Waterstones

A story of a life – of highs and lows, love and separation, success and failure. This novel explores what it is to live a fulfilled life, and how to make peace with our mistakes.

 

See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt, £12.99 (coming soon) | Waterstones

In this riveting debut novel, Sarah Schmidt reimagines one of the most fascinating American murder cases of all time – the Lizzie Borden murdersinto an intimate story of a volatile household and a family devoid of love. Fans of Serial and Making a Murderer will be instantly addicted.

 

Swimming Lessons by Claire Fuller, £14.99 | Watersones

Scandalous and whip-smart, Swimming Lessons, the anticipated second novel from Claire Fuller, follows Our Endless Numbered Days, which won the £10,000 Desmond Elliott Prize for debut works of fiction. Her latest offering is a spine-tingling tale, which reveals the mystery of a wife, vanished and presumably drowned.

 

The Blot by Jonathan Lethem & Laurence A. Rickels, £6.99 | Waterstones

Another thrilling book from cult Brooklyn-based novelist, Jonathan Lethem. In this surreal novel set in a Pynchon-esque California a professional gambler finds his luck is on the turn.

 

The Cows by Dawn O’Porter, £14.99 (coming soon) | Waterstones 

Columnist and presenter Dawn O'Porter follows up her young adult novels Paper Aeroplanes and Goose with her first novel for adults, The Cows – a powerful novel about three women judging each other, but also themselves, as they seek to find their own voice amongst the noise of modern life.

 

The Good People, by Hannah Kent,  £11.99 (was £14.99) | Waterstones

Kent’s debut Burial Rites, about an Icelandic murder case, made a big impression. This follow-up, again based on a series of real-life events, is set in a lost world bound by its own laws. Terrifying, thrilling and moving, this is a sensitively drawn tale of love, grief and heart-breaking loss.

 

The Most Dangerous Place On Earth by Lindsey Lee Johnson, £8.99 | Waterstones

In this captivating debut novel, Lee Johnson unleashes an unforgettable cast of characters into a realm known for its cruelty and peril: the American high school.

 

The River At Night by Erica Ferencik, £12.99 | Waterstones

A high-stakes drama set against the harsh beauty of the Maine wilderness, following the journey of four friends as they fight to survive the aftermath of a white water rafting accident, The River At Night is a nonstop and unforgettable thriller that will have you hooked.

 

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour, £9.84 | Amazon

From the award-winning author of Hold Still comes a heart-rending, beautiful novel about grief and the enduring power of friendship.

 

What We Do Now edited by Dennis Johnson & Valerie Merians, £12.99 | Waterstones

If you’re one of the many who have been left frustrated after the US Presidential Election, this could be the handbook to help you through. What We Do Now: Standing Up For Your Values In Trump's America is an inspiring collection of thought-provoking articles by some of the biggest names in progressive politics.


DISCLAIMER: We endeavour to always credit the correct original source of every image we use. If you think a credit may be incorrect, please contact us at [email protected]